Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Description: The purpose of this page is to share content related to data science at the USGS. Conversations can happen on GitHub, through Slack, and via email with someone specific. Here you'll find links to the appropriate resources and a directory of people at the USGS who practice data science.


GitHub

We will be using the USGS best-practices repository for now. If data science activity seems like it is taking over this repo, we can start our own repository under the USGS organization. To contribute, add resources to the data-science folder or create an issue to start a discussion using the "data-science" label. Click here to view all issues related to data-science on GitHub.

Slack

Join the Slack channel at this link. If you do not have a Slack account, email Eric Martinez (emartinez@usgs.gov) and he will get you setup.

Directory

NameEmailGitHub UserPositionUSGS Mission/OfficeExpertise
Amber Wittnerawittner@usgs.gov

awittner

GIS Coordinator/Analyst, Database ManagerGeology Minerals Energy & Geophysics (GMEGSC)ArcGIS Desktop, ArcGIS Pro, AGOL, Spatial Analysis, 3D GIS, Web & Mobile GIS
Lindsay Carrlcarr@usgs.gov@lindsaycarrData ScientistWater, Office of Water InformationR, training in scientific computing

Andy LaMotte

alamotte@usgs.gov
GeographerWater, MD-DE-DC WSCArcGIS, SAS, python, metadata
Laura De Ciccoldecicco@usgs.gov@ldecicco-usgsData ScientistWater, OWI

R

Jeremy Feejmfee@usgs.govjmfee-usgsComputer ScientistGeologic Hazards, GHSCLAMP, Java, HTML5, ...
Eric Martinezemartinez@usgs.govemartinez-usgsComputer ScientistGeologic Hazards, GHSCFull stack web development
Emily Bakerehbaker@usgs.gov@ehbaker-usgsGeophysicistClimate and Land Use, ASCPython, R, PostgreSQL, snow and glaciers.
Matt Arsenaultmarsenault@usgs.govmarsenaultUSGSInformation specialist; geology & geophysicsCoastal HazzardsArcGIS, python, metadata, coffee
Caitlin Andrewscandrews@usgs.gov
Researcher, Data Scientist

Katharine Coykendalldcoykendall@usgs.gov
Researcher

Wesley Danielwdaniel@usgs.gov
Researcher

Russell DeffnerRussell.Deffner@hotosm.org
GIS Developer/Analyst, Manager

Matt Neilsonmneilson@usgs.gov@mneilson-usgsFishery BiologistEcosystems, Wetland and Aquatic Research CenterR, Python
Alicyn Hargrovesalicyn.m.hargroves@usace.army.mil



Jay Cederbergcederber@usgs.gov
Data Scientist, Manager

Andrea Stewartanstewart@usgs.gov
Researcher, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/Analyst

Trent Harethare@usgs.gov
Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, Information Technology Professional / Developer, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/Analyst

Kate Vavra-Musservavramus@usc.edu
Researcher, Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/Analyst

Wonsook Hawha@usgs.gov
Researcher

Kevin Russellkevrusse@indiana.educartoCoderCartographic Analyst / Data Scientist
ArcGIS, Python, GDAL, FAIR data principles, 3D
Jason Mercerjmercer4@uwyo.edu



Mark Waldropmwaldrop@usgs.gov
Researcher

Scott Shaffsshaff@usgs.gov
Researcher

Elisabeth Fanoefano@usgs.gov
GIS Developer/Analyst

Cheryl Hortoncahorton@usgs.gov
Wildlife Biologist

Travis Harrisontharrison@usgs.gov
Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, Information Technology Professional / Developer, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/Analyst

Michelle Heacockheacockm@niehs.nih.gov
Program Officer, NIH

Jens Stevensjtstevens@usgs.govstevensjt

Research Ecologist

Ecosystems; Fort Collins Science Center; New Mexico Landscapes Field StationForest and fire ecology; R, QGIS, ArcGIS
Joe Bardjbard@usgs.gov
GIS Developer/Analyst

Amy Gilmeragilmer@usgs.gov
Researcher

Vidal A Mendozavmendoza@usgs.gov
Data Scientist

Sam Pecorarospecoraro@usgs.gov
Researcher, Data Scientist

David Muellerdmueller@usgs.gov
Researcher, Information Technology Professional / Developer

Parker Nortonpnorton@usgs.gov
Researcher

Salvador Peñapena@photrack.ch
Information Technology Professional / Developer

Richie Ericksonrerickson@usgs.govrerickson-usgsResearch Quantitive EcologistEcosystems; Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences CenterR, Python, population modeling, statistics
Kurt McCoykjmccoy@usgs.gov
Data Scientist

Nathan Johnsonnajohnson@usgs.gov
Researcher

Lorrie V. Coinerlorrie.coiner@dmme.virginia.gov
Geologist for State Survey

Jay Diffendorferjediffendorfer@usgs.gov
Researcher

Darwin Ockermanockerman@usgs.gov



Peter Kesslerpeter.kessler@usmax.com
Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, Information Technology Professional / Developer, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/Analyst, Manager

Emily O'Deaneodean@unr.edu
Data Manager/Steward/Specialist

Toby Welborntlwelbor@usgs.gov
Manager

Ellyn Montgomeryemontgomery@usgs.govemontgomery-usgsOceanographer/Data manager/steward/specialistHazards, Woods Hole Coastal and Marine Science CenterMatlab, Python, Metadata, THREDDS, NetCDF
Erica Mizeerica_mize@fws.gov

Researcher, Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, Data Scientist



Alex HeadmanAHeadman@usgs.govAHeadman-usgsResearcher, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/AnalystWater - Washington Water Science CenterR, Python, Geostatistics, Time Series.
David Donatodidonato@usgs.govdidonato-usgsComputer Scientist EDGE]Office of CTO, Office of Enterprise InformationMathematics, mathematical statistics, scientific software development, C, C++, Python, others
Mark Hartmark_hart@nps.gov
Researcher, Data Manager/Steward/Specialist

René Baumstarkrene.baumstark@myfwc.com
Researcher, Manager

Michele Basilembasile@usgs.gov
Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, GIS Developer/Analyst

Charles C. Stillwellcstillwell@usgs.gov
HydrologistWater - South Atlantic Water Science Center
Breanna Williamsbnwilliams@contractor.usgs.gov
Researcher, Data Manager/Steward/Specialist, Data Scientist, GIS Developer/Analyst

Crista Straubcstraub@usgs.gov
Researcher, GIS Developer/Analyst

Annie Simpsonasimpson@usgs.gov asimpson-usgsBiologist and Information Scientist, Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON) species mapping applicationScience and Analytics Program, Core Science Systemsinvasive species data, data standards development
Chelsie Romulochelsie.romulo@unco.edu



Ibrahim Demiribrahim-demir@uiowa.edu
Assistant Professor, University of Iowa
hydroinformatics, scientific visualization and computing, intelligent systems, AI, VR/AR
Dave Whitedave.white@fugro.com



Ben Wheelerwheelerbk@state.govwheelerbkDiplomat(formerly of CSS/SAS)
Vanessa Baezvbaez@usgs.gov
Pathways Student

Mark Millermpmiller@usgs.gov



Keith Loftinkloftin@usgs.gov



Jeffrey Pearsonjpearson@esri.com



Danielle Dupuyddupuy@usgs.gov



Jennifer Walterjlwalter@usgs.gov



Christie Hegermillerchegermiller@usgs.gov



Kate Joneskkjones@usgs.gov



Karen Rybergkryberg@usgs.govkryberg-USGSResearch StatisticianWater, Dakota Water Science Center on detail to the Analysis and Prediction Branchstatistics, data mining, programming

Add yourself to the table above.