Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Collaborative and science-informed management has been at the heart of the large-scale efforts to conserve the sagebrush ecosystem for greater sage-grouse and over 350 other species that rely on the sagebrush ecosystem. The development and use of geospatial data and decision support tools to inform management of rangeland fire, restoration of sagebrush habitats, and conservation of sage-grouse has resulted in exciting new opportunities, but the volume of data and tools has resulted in challenges for providers and users of this information. SageDAT is a web-based system that uses the latest technology to reduce barriers to data sharing and increase access to information through the development of a multi-agency data catalog. For data providers, this effort will increase communication and coordination on data management and provide tools to help protect sensitive/proprietary locations and information, which can alleviate past impediments to participation in previous large-scale planning efforts. For users, SageDAT will provide access to a comprehensive list of datasets and decision support tools via a web interface and improve mechanisms for increased communications and cooperation between federal, state, and local agencies, tribes, non-governmental organizations, universities, and industry across 11 western States to enhance long-term stewardship of the sagebrush ecosystem.

Science Support Framework Category: Data Management

Author(s): Steven E. Hanser (shanser@usgs.gov) - USGS Ecosystems Mission Area, Dell Long (jllong@usgs.gov) - USGS Fort Collins Science Center, Paul F. Steblein (psteblein@usgs.gov) - USGS Ecosystems Mission Area, Lief A. Wiechman (lwiechman@fws.gov) - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Karen L. Prentice (kprentic@blm.gov) - Bureau of Land Management, Ken E. Mayer (ken.e.mayer@gmail.com) - Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, Tim J. Kern (kernt@usgs.gov)- USGS Water Mission Area Enterprise Technology Office, John C. Tull (john_tull@fws.gov) - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Michael E. Houts (mhouuts@ku.edu) - Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies


  • No labels