Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

New to The National Map Corps? Head over here for an overview of the project.

Mapping Challenges will be released periodically and are a way to focus volunteers on areas that need editing. The challenge is to edit the red points if you are Standard Editor and to Peer Review the green points within the challenge area released. Make sure to look for missing points too! Advanced Editors can edit any of the points within the challenge area. 

Volunteers who contribute in the Challenge area will be recognized on this page and also tweeted on The National Map Twitter account. Contribute to The National Map by participating in Mapping Challenges!

Mapping Challenge Update - Interactive Web Map

4/11/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

Mapping Challenge Update: Virginia is Getting Full!

Our volunteers never cease to amaze us! Virginia is seeing more and more points added each week with almost another 100 points added; Maryland and Delaware are getting full, too! Keep up the good work!

Note that there are still a few counties that have yet to have any City / Town Hall points added. There's also several standard-edited (i.e., green) points for our Peer Reviewers and Advanced Editors to verify.

Another important tip is to remember that many counties contain more than one city, so it is quite common for each county to contain multiple City / Town Hall points. A quick web search for each county (e.g., "Shenandoah County, VA") may provide a list of the cities in that county. Volunteers can then perform a second web search for each city listed to locate their city halls.

If you have any questions during the mapping process, reach out to us at nationalmapcorps@usgs.gov and someone will be happy to assist!  Thank you for all that you do, and happy mapping!

Mapping Challenge Updates

4/4/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

Mapping Challenge Updates - Over 100 Points in the Last Week!

WOW - Our volunteers have been busy and this status update map shows! Over 100 new City / Town Hall points have been added in the last week! Keep up the good work!

Don't forget about the Interactive Web Map for this challenge. It's a handy tool that we developed to help users locate individual points (i.e., like that one unedited point in Delaware...).

Reach out to us at nationalmapcorps@usgs.gov if you have any questions during the process!

Mapping Challenge Update - Interactive Web Map

4/2/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

Mapping Challenge Update: Interactive Web Map for City / Town Hall Structures in the Washington, D.C. Area

Here is the Interactive Web Map for the mapping challenge!

If you have any questions during the mapping process, reach out to us at nationalmapcorps@usgs.gov and someone will be happy to assist!  Thank you for all that you do, and happy mapping!

Mapping Challenge Updates - More City / Town Halls Are Coming In!

3/28/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

Mapping Challenge Updates - More City / Town Halls are coming in for the DC Area!

It’s always exciting to see the blank portions of the map filling in during our mapping challenges!  Since we launched this challenge, several points have been added in the southwestern portion of Virginia along with a few more scattered points elsewhere.  Don’t forget those empty counties in Maryland... And of course there’s Washington, D.C. as well!

Reach out to us at nationalmapcorps@usgs.gov if you have any questions during the process!

New Mapping Challenge - City / Town Hall Structures in the Washington, D.C. Area

3/21/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

New Mapping Challenge! City / Town Hall Structures in the Washington, D.C. Area

Our new mapping challenge will cover City / Town Hall structures in the Washington, D.C. area and surrounding states.  

The area of interest for this challenge encompasses multiple states and/or districts including the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia. Keep in mind that we are actively collecting City / Town Hall structures nationwide, so you’re not limited to collecting just in this area. However, only edits performed within the challenge area will count towards the challenge.   

A fun aspect of this challenge is that those participating will have an opportunity to explore some historic architecture while contributing to The National Map! Check out our newsletters from July, September, and November 2018 for more on the different types of architecture one might encounter.

Here are some additional things to keep in mind while collecting City / Town Hall Structures in the Washington, D.C. Area:

Incorporated Places

  1. Most of the City / Town Hall structures will fall within incorporated places. An incorporated place is an area that is governed by a local municipal corporation.

    1. Incorporated places in the D.C. area may include cities, towns, or villages.

  2. A good place to start is to search Wikipedia for a list of municipalities or incorporated places in each state.

    1. Remember that these Wikipedia lists are only a starting point and are not an authoritative source.

    2. Therefore, as you work through the list to map each entry, be sure to confirm each feature with an authoritative source such as the city’s website.

Proper Point Placement

  1. You won’t see a large amount of red (unedited) points for these structures,because there is very little pre-existing “seed data” that has been loaded into the editor. Most of the features for this challenge will be collected from scratch.  

  2. Different incorporated places may share a building for their city/town hall locations. If so, add a point for each city/town hall. An example of this is the Rye Town Office which occupies space on the Third Floor of the Port Chester Village Hall in Port Chester, NY.

  3. Our November 2018 newsletter includes an article on aerial interpretation for city / town hall structures. This article walks readers through how to find the correct building to place a point on when examining aerial photography.

We’re working on putting together an Interactive Web Map for this challenge as we speak, so check back often!

If you have any questions during the mapping process, reach out to us at nationalmapcorps@usgs.gov and someone will be happy to assist!  Thank you for all that you do, and happy mapping!


Mapping Challenge Updates - Results of Texas Law Enforcement Challenge!

3/7/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

Mapping Challenge Results - Texas Law Enforcement

Our Texas Law Enforcement mapping challenge is now finished!!  A huge shout-out to all of our volunteers who participated in this challenge!  Here is a time-lapse of our volunteer contributions: 

Overall, 30 volunteers combined forces and edited a total of 950 unique points throughout the challenge. Nice work!

Here is a summary of the edits by user role:

  • Standard Editor: 172
  • Peer Reviewer: 44
  • Advanced Editor: 947


 Click here to see a full list of volunteers who contributed.
  • afb728
  • Cartograsaurus02
  • Cassie Tammy Wang
  • chfeng05
  • Clint Rudloff
  • CRSGamer
  • detour
  • geo163
  • GeoM
  • HGeisler
  • jbickeLSU
  • JISIBOR
  • Just Don Gertz
  • Karen
  • Kelly T
  • kevinma
  • ktomansager
  • pasmann
  • Peregrine
  • RyanLIFireEMS
  • SaltyHiker
  • Soonie
  • superlemur
  • TexasNavy78
  • Tlattimo2017


(star)(star)(star) Special shout-out to superlemur for participating in their 5th mapping challenge! Keep up the awesome work! 

Another mapping challenge is in the works, so check back often. Thank you for all that you do and Happy Mapping!


Mapping Challenge Updates - Texas Law Enforcement Finished!

3/06/19 -------------------------------------------------------------

Texas Law Enforcement - Finished!

The Texas law enforcement mapping challenge is officially closed! A big THANKS! to all of our volunteers for their contributions! We will be posting the results and participants on this page soon.

While the challenge may be closed, users are still welcome to edit these points. Just note that edits made after this date will not be included in our official mapping challenge summary results.

We're also working on a new mapping challenge which we'll post to this page as well, so check back often!

Mapping Challenge Updates - New Mapping Challenge!

9/17/18 -------------------------------------------------------------

New Mapping Challenge - Texas Law Enforcement

Since our volunteers are AWESOME and did great work on Georgia Post Offices, we have another map challenge for you with some similar (I have to say it!) challenges!  This time we’re focusing on Texas Law Enforcement locations.

While reviewing Texas courthouses, we noticed many law enforcement points that are unedited, as well as a large number of points that need Peer Reviewed. Many of the edited law enforcement points in Texas were edited through our previous application (prior to 8/2016); so make sure to do a thorough peer review check of those points (as you always would, of course!☺).  

To go with this challenge, we’ve created an Interactive Challenge Map page where users can quickly see which law enforcement points still need checked or peer-reviewed:



Here are a few things to keep in mind while reviewing Texas Law Enforcement locations:

What types of organizations fall under Law Enforcement?

  • For law enforcement duties, Texas uses highway patrol officers, police departments, sheriffs’ offices, and peace constables.  When editing law enforcement points in Texas, be sure to locate an authoritative source that lists the structure as one of these organizations.  See our Structures List for more on what law enforcement structures do and do not include.

Beware of bailiffs and jails.

  • You’ll notice several law enforcement points that are close to (or located at) county courthouses.  When reviewing these points, make sure to determine whether officers at these locations dispatch into the greater community or if their primary role is to assist the courts.  If that location’s only duty is to assist the courts, then it is considered a bailiff.  Since we are not collecting bailiffs at this time, please use the Comments field to document your findings and delete these points.

  • You may also come across law enforcement points that are placed on a county jail.  For these points, use an authoritative source to determine whether officers at these locations dispatch into the community or if their primary role is jail security.  Similar to the courts, we are not collecting law enforcement locations whose primary role is jail security. If the location’s only duty is jail security, please use the Comments field to document your findings and delete these points. However, if the location dispatches into the greater community (e.g., county sheriff’s offices that are co-located at a jail), then you can update the point.

As always, thank you for all that you do and Happy Mapping!

Mapping Challenge Updates - Georgia Post Offices Finished! Here are the Results

8/16/18 -------------------------------------------------------------

Georgia Post Offices - Finished!

Georgia Post Offices are now finished! THANK YOU to all of our volunteers who participated in this challenge! Here is a time-lapse map of volunteer contributions:


This time-lapse shows 829 unique points being edited by 16 volunteers throughout the duration of the challenge. Thank you!

Edits by User

Standard Editor - 180
Peer Reviewer - 10
Advanced Editor - 1,291


 Click here to see the Challenge Participants
  • detour
  • TSDNAV
  • geo163
  • Mungo
  • wla245
  • jhou
  • Andrew Tscherne
  • Britty01
  • superlemur
  • Lilitleet
  • AnneG
  • gacaver
  • kstam
  • ABvb11
  • rjhale1971
  • hyperbolejoy
Mapping Challenge Updates - New Structure Finder!

7/25/18 -------------------------------------------------------------

Introducing the new TNMCorps Structure Finder!

The TNMCorps Structure Finder is an interactive web map that allows volunteers to randomly select a point based on their user level.

So instead of being tied to a specific state and/or feature type, let the Structure Finder take you to a random location! Who knows; it could randomly take you to a community that you may or may not have heard of! That's the fun of it!


Mapping Challenge Updates - Courthouses Completed?!

6/1918 -------------------------------------------------------------

Courthouses - Finished!

It looks to us like courthouses may be finished (for now)! If you notice something missing in a state that hasn't been reviewed yet (i.e. hasn't turned yellow), make sure to add it.

THANK YOU to all of our volunteers who participated in this pilot project!!! We will be rolling out recognition badges for participation in collecting courthouses soon.


Looking for previous updates? Click here to check out our Past Mapping Challenges.


TWITTER, TWEET, RETWEET and the Twitter logo are trademarks of Twitter, Inc. or its affiliates.