Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Updated the SurfBoard Map


 

 

Div
alignright

Livesearch
spaceKeySurfBoard
placeholderSearch Surface Velocity Workgroup


Deploy and innovate with existing near-field non-contact surface velocity technologies. Enable and support appropriate use survey wide. Apply standard of quality the USGS stakes its name on.

About Us

During the past 2–3 years, staff from U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Water Science Centers, the National Research Program (NRP), and the Office of Surface Water (OSW) began experimenting with and adapting some new surface velocity measurement technologies. Hoping to aid in national coordination,  the OSW formed this work group on surface velocity measurements and their applications to Water Mission Area (WMA) programs. The Surface Velocity Workgroup (Surf Board, for short) aims to provide guidance to OSW that will likely lead to policy and procedure guidelines for the deployment and use of surface velocity methods Survey-wide. These novel techniques have a lot of potential to help the USGS move forward with new science. There are also a many pitfalls. A major goal of the Surf Board is to make the path forward clear for the USGS. 

Who We Are

Name

Email

Representation

Org Unit/Location

Jay Cederberg

cederber@usgs.gov

Southwest

Arizona WSC

Frank Engel

fengel@usgs.gov

Chair, Southwest

Texas WSC / HNB

John Fulton

jwfulton@usgs.gov

Southwest

Colorado WSC

Russ Lotspeich

rlotspei@usgs.gov

Northeast

Virginia-West Virgina WSC

Heather Best

hbest@usgs.gov

Pacific

Alaska WSC

Elliot Sosa

esosa@usgs.gov

Southeast

Caribbean-Florida WSC

John Parks

jeparks@usgs.gov

Southeast

Caribbean-Florida WSC

Allen Roberts

aroberts@usgs.gov

Southeast

Jackson, MS

Terry Kenney

tkenney@usgs.gov

Office of Quality Assurance, Pacific

Salt Lake City, UT

Joshua Keelejkeele@usgs.govNortheastSt. Louis, MO

Todd Koenig

tkoenig@usgs.gov

Hydrologic Networks Branch

Rolla, MO

Kevin Oberg

kaoberg@usgs.gov

Hydrologic Networks Branch

Urbana, IL

C. Marcelo Garcia

cgarcia2mjc@gmail.com

National Univ. of Córdoba

Córdoba, Argentina

Antoine Patalanoantoine.patalano@gmail.comNational Univ. of CórdobaCórdoba, Argentina

Elizabeth Jamieson

Elizabeth.jamieson@canada.ca

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Muluken Yeheyismuluken.yeheyis@canada.caEnvironment and Climate Change CanadaOttawa, Ontario, Canada

Alexandre Hauet

alexandre.hauet@edf.fr

Electricity of France

Grenoble, France


Areas of Responsibilities

Image RemovedImage Added

Our Purpose and Scope

Our group formed in 2016 to help guide the U.S Geological Survey in the application of Surface Velocity technologies for operational use (gaging mainly, but other uses too). We are working on Image Velocimetry and Velocity Radar applications. In short our purpose can be summarized as:

  1. Providing needed technical support and guidance on the application of surface velocity measurements: where and how do I use these technologies?
  2.  Coordinating the evaluation and testing of new methods: how do we ensure efficiency, and that technical expertise is applied where needed?
  3.  Communicating findings to Water Mission Area leads and USGS scientists: distill the message, distribute findings, cheerlead and advocate for proper use.
 

Read our full charter for further details: OSW Surf Board Charter