Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.



Purpose

The purpose of this group is to develop a community of practice for people who review metadata, so that the standards across the USGS are consistent. This group will enable new people to this role to learn from people who are experienced metadata reviewers. The point of contact for questions is Fran Lightsom, flightsom@usgs.gov

Regular meetings are held the first Monday of each month, 2pm - 3pm Eastern Time. 703-648-4848 (or 1-855-547-8255) code 64914.

See Meetings page for video technology.


Member Introductions

On our Member Introductions page, please add a paragraph about your work with metadata reviews, to assist other community members in finding colleagues who are also dealing with particular issues.

Metadata Reviewers Forum

 Please feel free to use the Metadata Reviewers Forum to ask questions or to initiate new discussions with this group.

Meeting notes

Notes from our meetings are at the page Meetings of the Metadata Reviewers Community

Training Materials: Reviewer Training & Metadata Author Training

Please contribute your center's training materials by linking them to the page Metadata Reviewers Training Collection

Data & Metadata Review Examples and Templates

 This Community of Practice has started to collect resources for performing metadata and data reviews:

2016 CDI Virtual Training: Reviewing Metadata

Presented by Peter Schweitzer and VeeAnn Cross, August 11, 2016. Includes Webex recording, links to online resources, Q&A page.

California Water Science Center Data Release Review Template

This template was provided by Kathryn Crepeau and Ryan Mesmer from the California Water Science Center on Tuesday, August 6, 2019.

Dakota Water Science Center Metadata Review Checklist

This metadata review checklist was updated in February 2017

St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center Data Review Guidelines

This template was provided by Arnell Forde and Joe W. Carroll, III from the St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center on Wednesday, August 17th, 2016.

St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center Metadata Review Guidelines

The document linked above includes items that Arnell Forde looks for when conducting metadata reviews (provided Wednesday, August 17th, 2016). Please note that the document is not a template. It is just a list of items to consider during a review.

St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center Webpage, Data and Metadata Review Guidelines

This is an example of a document that Heather sends out to people who are doing a Data Release data review. At St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center, they construct a development web page to check the data and help with the review. When the review is done, the DOI will be adjusted to point to the real webpage. (Description and document provided by Joe W. Carroll III on Wednesday, August 17th, 2016).

Woods Hole Science Center Data and Metadata Review Template & Example

This template for data and metadata review was provided by VeeAnn Cross on Wednesday, August 17th, 2016

References

Team Calendars
width800
id074d0194-6327-4daf-8674-7cb2fb418dc8

Team Calendars
defaultViewlist
width800
id074d0194-6327-4daf-8674-7cb2fb418dc8


Show If
groupcdi-users


Code Block
languagetext
titleEmail list (copy n paste)
sdabrowski@usgs.gov, obuch@usgs.gov, kcrepeau@usgs.gov, vhutchison@usgs.gov, 
mierardi@usgs.gov, emorriss@usgs.gov, sherynolson@usgs.gov, talbertc@usgs.gov, 
cbdawson@usgs.gov, kkloecker@usgs.gov, ggunther@usgs.gov, bdensmore@usgs.gov,
jahopple@usgs.gov, jcolson@usgs.gov, jlwalter@usgs.gov, nledoux@usgs.gov, 
jmangano@usgs.gov, pschweitzer@usgs.gov, vatnipp@usgs.gov, alamotte@usgs.gov,
kkolb@usgs.gov, shoffman@usgs.gov, tmckinney@usgs.gov, kcourtot@usgs.gov,
rick_camp@usgs.gov, agenz@usgs.gov, aallwardt@usgs.gov, pberkowitz@usgs.gov,
jjacobi@usgs.gov, kadkins@usgs.gov, aappling@usgs.gov, tarundel@usgs.gov,
rbaskin@usgs.gov, dabecker@usgs.gov, sbeldin@usgs.gov, tbell@usgs.gov,
biagasj@usgs.gov, teburley@usgs.gov, mcannister@usgs.gov, scochran@usgs.gov,
fanchert@usgs.gov, faundeen@usgs.gov, aforde@usgs.gov, afreeman@usgs.gov,
stephanie_galvan@usgs.gov, egross@usgs.gov, mrjohns@usgs.gov, kjones@usgs.gov,
flightsom@usgs.gov, hbattlesmanley@usgs.gov, jmchugh@usgs.gov,
rlmedina@usgs.gov, rfmiller@usgs.gov, jcnelson@usgs.gov, mnielsen@usgs.gov,
tnorkin@usgs.gov, eolexa@usgs.gov, cprice@usgs.gov, esanchez-chopitea@usgs.gov, rtillitt@usgs.gov, dwalworth@usgs.gov, wilsonl@usgs.gov,
lisa_zolly@usgs.gov, lhsu@usgs.gov, mlangseth@usgs.gov, msant@usgs.gov, emorriss@usgs.gov, gkbought@usgs.gov, erica_mize@fws.gov, nationaldatamanagement@fws.gov, marsenault@usgs.gov, kroy@usgs.gov, dcoykendall@usgs.gov, alicyn.m.hargroves@usace.army.mil, dihagan@ufl.edu, mahunter@usgs.gov, thare@usgs.gov, award@contractor.usgs.gov, mwaldrop@usgs.gov, sshaff@usgs.gov, cahorton@usgs.gov, peter.kessler@usmax.com, msant@usgs.gov, tlwelbor@usgs.gov, mark_hart@nps.gov, bnwilliams@contractor.usgs.gov, bnwilliams@contractor.usgs.gov, mccoyj@usgs.gov, kloftin@usgs.gov, ddupuy@usgs.gov



Section

Team

Coordinator: Fran Lightsom

Members:

Show If
groupcdi-users


Column
width33%

Karen Adkins

Alan Allwardt

Alison Appling

Terry Arundel

Rob Baskin

Debra Becker

Sarah Beldin

Tara Bell

Paul Berkowitz

Janelda Biagas

Greg Boughton

Tom Burley

Rick Camp

Matt Cannister

Susan Cochran

Karen Courtot

Kathryn Crepeau

VeeAnn Cross

Sofia Dabrowski

Cian Dawson

Brenda Densmore

Tammy Fancher

John Faundeen

Arnell Forde


Column
width33%

Aaron Freeman

Stephanie Galvin

Ayesha Genz

Eliza Gross

Greg Gunther

Scott Hoffman

Jessica Hopple

Leslie Hsu

Viv Hutchison

Mike Ierardi

Jim Jacobi

Michaela Johnson

Kimberly Jones

Kim Kloecker

Kitty Kolb

Andy LaMotte

Madison Langseth

Neda Ledoux

Fran Lightsom

Joseph Mangano

Meagan Manley

Jeremy McHugh

Tim McKinney

Rose Medina


Column
width33%

Rob Miller

Erica Mize

Eric Morrissey

JC Nelson

Martha Nielsen

Tamar Norkin

Ray Obuch

Ed Olexa

Jackie Olson

Sheryn Olson

Curtis Price

Erika Sanchez-Chopitea

Marilyn Santiago

Peter Schweitzer

Colin Talbert

Robin Tillitt

Dennis Walworth

Jennifer Walter

Lei Ann Wilson

Lisa Zolly




Hide If
groupcdi-users

Membership / email lists for the Metadata Reviewers Community of Practice are only visible to CDI members. Please log in to see the list or contact cdi@usgs.gov to become a member.