CDI Software Development Cluster

Meeting Notes

April 26th, 2018, 3:30PM EDT

 

Improving the development experience on Windows using HyperV and the Windows Subsystem for Linux 
Presented by Scott Lewein

 

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/696628840

Or iPhone one-tap :

US: +16699006833,,696628840# or +14087403766,,696628840#

Or Telephone:

Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 408 740 3766 or +1 646 876 9923

Meeting ID: 696 628 840

Note that we have switched from GSTalk to Zoom for the time being, due to a number of usability/compatibility issues with the GSTalk platform.

 

Meeting Notes in Google Drive: Shared Google Drive Folder: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ygbbZ2Jmyq-_GZkHgLinh0AECzKTR8JAIl9dYwrZdrM/edit

Attendees

Name

Email (if you are new)

Blake Draper

bdraper@usgs.gov

Michelle Guy

mguy@usgs.gov

Mary Bucknell

mbucknell@usgs.gov

Aaron Stephenson

 

Hans Vraga

hvraga@usgs.gov

Marty Smith

marsmith@usgs.gov

Megan Hines

mhines@usgs.gov

Katrin Jacobsen

kjacobsen@usgs.gov

Rachel Stevenson

rstevenson@usgs.gov

Scott Lewein

srlewein@usgs.gov

Eric Martinez

emartinez@usgs.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Agenda

     Welcome and announcements(Blake)

     Please fill in name and email in the attendees table

     We are still always looking for topics, and your input and participation!

     We have created a form for submitting presentation proposals for future Software Dev Cluster meetings

     https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1U8SboIfW72bLlCmpp2r kt0-SWc1UMWbm6cKq8163seg/edit

     Update on USGS storage solutions from April workshop at EROS (Michelle)

     Update on Git developments (Eric Martinez)

    Improving the development experience on Windows using HyperV and the Windows Subsystem for Linux ( Scott Lewein )

    Link to download WSL https://superuser.com/questions/1271682/is-there-a-way-of-installing-windows-subsystem-for-linux-on-win10-v1709-withou

     Open mic

     What do you want to talk about in this group?

     Next Month: Talking Software Licenses (pros and cons of types like CC0, JPL, BSD, etc.) (Leon Noks)

 

Discussion/Notes

      USGS Storage Workshop materials:

       https://drive.google.com/open?id=10JDqqs3ffBe3jpx0tLQvw15MDlCq24rY

       workshop notes are here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1fS924RO9fzvrEPHvKtDeknz6EX-CxkdyXAyYelUi8tc

      The Git Hosting platform:

      https://github.com/usgs/ ,

      https://code.usgs.gov/ ,

      https://code.chs.usgs.gov/