CDI Software Development Cluster

Meeting Notes

July 26th, 2018, 4:30PM EDT (NOTICE TIME CHANGE)

 

Git Primer 
Presented by Carl Shroedl

 

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/696628840

Or iPhone one-tap :

US: +16699006833,,696628840# or +14087403766,,696628840#

Or Telephone:

Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 408 740 3766 or +1 646 876 9923

Meeting ID: 696 628 840

Note that we have switched from GSTalk to Zoom for the time being, due to a number of usability/compatibility issues with the GSTalk platform.

 

Meeting Notes in Google Drive: Shared Google Drive Folder:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1w7T9OHQjeDJ_4B8ZanFXxJ_NAGVWRRxb5oNIc1ROy9Q/edit?usp=sharing

 

Attendees

Name

Email (if you are new)

Susan Cochran

scochran@usgs.gov

Michelle Guy

mguy@usgs.gov

Mounica Battula

nbattula@contractor.usgs.gov

Steven Predmore

spredmor@usgs.gov

 

Mason Hauck

mhauck.contractor.usgs.gov

Arnell Forde

aforde@usgs.gov

Heather Schreppel

hschreppel@usgs.gov

Leslie Hsu

lhsu@usgs.gov

Drew Ignizio

dignizio@usgs.gov

Liz Huselid

ehuselid@usgs.gov

Kevin Corzine

kcorzine@contractor.usgs.gov

Eric Martinez

emartinez@usgs.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Agenda

     Welcome and announcements

     Please fill in name and email in the attendees table

     We are still always looking for topics, and your input and participation!

     We have created a form for submitting presentation proposals for future Software Dev Cluster meetings

     https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1U8SboIfW72bLlCmpp2r kt0-SWc1UMWbm6cKq8163seg/edit

    Git Primer ( Carl Shroedl )

Google drive presentation  https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1OacaXBGk7IDPINMQUYOZp4_XQ1QtYotKlnqUyJxNOqs/edit?usp=sharing

     Open mic

     Announcements?

     Questions?

     Lessons learned?

     Fun projects under way?

     Next Month: Git, a deeper dive by George Rolston

 

Discussion/Notes

      Can simplify by not doing branches under a fork, or possibly not doing forks, but this takes away from the motivation and getting code reviews, etc

      Infinite possible workflows in Git, adjust it, make it work for you, Atlassian is a good resource https://www.atlassian.com/git/tutorials/comparing-workflows

      Branch naming conventions? Can use issue code/identifier this can help you trace back to details on the issue or motivation for the code changes