Human Dimensions in Bird Conservation Webinar Series

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 1:00pm
Location: 

The bird conservation community has increasingly recognized that conserving birds fundamentally involves humans. However, how and when these human dimensions should be integrated in conservation efforts is less clear. Luckily, the number of success stories where social science has been utilized to conserve birds has been steadily increasing along with social science capacity and expertise. In order to continue this social science integration, The Bird Conservation Plans Partnerships’ Unified Science Team (UST), has partnered with Human Dimensions (HD) representatives from North American Bird Conservation Initiative (NABCI), North American Waterfowl Management Plan (NAWMP), and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to develop a human dimensions in bird conservation webinar series.

The goal of this series is to increase awareness and understanding of HD within the bird conservation community by providing an overview of current human dimensions efforts. Our hope is that this series will encourage continued conversations and future actions to integrate human dimensions in bird conservation planning and delivery. The initial series will include three webinars that will be recorded and publicly available on HDgov (https://my.usgs.gov/hd/node/1143).

Watch the recording of Webinar #1: Introduction to HD in Bird Conservation HERE

The recording of Webinar #2: Incorporating HD into Conservation Planning will be available soon.

 

Webinar #3: Incorporating HD into Conservation Delivery

The Playa Lakes Joint Venture has implemented several HD efforts to understand landowner motivations for engaging in playa conservation and how to foster continuation of conservation behaviors on private lands. This webinar will provide a practical example of how HD science can be used to inform and implement conservation delivery in Joint Venture partnerships.

Presenter: Anne Bartuszevige, Conservation Science Director (Playa Lakes Joint Venture)

Date: April 17, 2018

Time: 12-1 PM (Pacific); 1-2 PM (Mountain); 2-3 PM (Central); 3-4 PM (Eastern)

Webinar link: https://nctc.adobeconnect.com/r44lhptsre4/  

If you don't have computer speakers and the chat function, then please call in to 866.541.0715 
access code: 14414255